More Evil, Most Evil

Today after I had bought two bamboo pillow cases, the old man said: you look hot.

Not that my sweating profusely is unusual for me during this time of the year, but I responded: I JUST GOT A TRAFFIC TICKET FROM THE [asshole] police, for the 2nd time, but this time going the other direction!

It was only 20 RMB, but the entrepreneur whom I have known for over a year understands the hassles of the Shanghai police.

This time I had argued more than last time, and the street cop in charge looks like Judd Nelson in  Billionaire Boys Club(1987) full movie – YouTube

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 19.22.05.png

▶ 3:08:11

Billionaire Boys Club, full movie. … Judd Nelson is back in the new 2016 remake as his character Joe Hunt’s ..

EVIL and Intimidating! But unsuccessful in intimidating me he resolved to ask me if I had my ID, passport, where I was from and where I live. Tired of his malarkey- I then tried to shove 20 RMB to get it over faster, acting as if I were anybody. Then he was distracted to the next prey.
While the officer writing the ticket asked me to write down my name and sign it. Whom I conversely treated with the utmost respect, as I know such jobs are quite harsh.
In 2012, I got an illegal violation ticket in Belmont, which I took pictures and wrote a thorough account on Yelp https://www.yelp.com/biz/belmont-belmont.
Finally when I realized that it would be too hard to meet a day in court, I paid off the $240 ticket.
For three and a half years I lived in Beijing and despite never getting a ticket or any confrontation with the cops there. The intimidating, SWAT team and police presence is the most denegrating.
Migrants without permets would get confronted by 2 officers, who told them to leave, then a female or a lesser officer, would listen to their pleas for mercy and issue the ticket.
I have lived in Shanghai for the past 4 years and for the past 11 years previous to Septemeber 2008 when I left for my Beijing Ordeal.
I appreciate the ability of the street police to take the time to listen to the complaints of the ordinary folk.
Some people may call me a Commie suckup, that I may be but what this has to do is quality of life, where it is not in the San Francisco Bay Area, and fully realized in Shanghai [with regular day trips to Hong Kong].
Here in Shanghai with tens of millions have the dignity of life, traveling the most efficient subways or buses. How high one can dreams is the only limitation!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

